Sunday Reading with Poe and the Strangely Hypnotizing Illustrations of Abigail Larson.

 

abigaillarson

All featured illustrations by Abigail Larson. Click to view more or buy.

It’s a rainy Sunday evening and I’m taking a pleasurable breather – before the madness of the week ensues- dipping my mind into Poe’s infamous short story Ligeia (1838). My curiosity was piqued whilst reading a chapter on Poe in D.H. Lawrence’s Studies in Classic American Literature (1923) in which he tries to unravel the ‘American soul’ and expose its consciousness through selected writers. All the Poe-esque Romantic Gothic elements are there…and whatever could be wrong with a beautiful woman showing a man ‘forbidden’ wisdom and metaphysical secrets to the universe? Because that always ends well.

invader-zim

 

" Of all the women whom I have ever known, she, the
outwardly calm, the ever-placid Ligeia, was the most violently a prey
to the tumultuous vultures of stern passion. And of such passion I
could form no estimate, save by the miraculous expansion of those
eyes which at once so delighted and appalled me - by the almost
magical melody, modulation, distinctness and placidity of her very
low voice - and by the fierce energy (rendered doubly effective by
contrast with her manner of utterance) of the wild words which she
habitually uttered. " Ligeia, Edgar Allan Poe

 

larson_2015_asenath_small

" That she loved me I should not have doubted; and I might have been
easily aware that, in a bosom such as hers, love would have reigned
no ordinary passion. But in death only, was I fully impressed with
the strength of her affection. For long hours, detaining my hand,
would she pour out before me the overflowing of a heart whose more
than passionate devotion amounted to idolatry. How had I deserved to
be so blessed by such confessions?  How had I deserved to be so
cursed..." Ligeia, Edgar Allan Poe

 

poe

Poe has a unique way of enticing and enthralling his readers. Those of us more Gothic-prone tend to surrender, without a fight, into the arms of his words where beautiful women and witchy things trap our souls. I find the short story form more appealing than the typical novel form. Open Culture’s 7 Tips from Edgar Allan Poe on How to Write Vivid Stories and Poems has this little piece of advice for budding writers out there :

Keep it short—the “single sitting” rule. Poe contends that “if any literary work is too long to be read at one sitting, we must be content to dispense with the immensely important effect derivable from unity of impression.” Force the reader to take a break, and “the affairs of the world interfere” and break the spell.

berenice-czh-prints

Happy Sunday reading! (I’m pretty sure an owl just hoo-hooed outside my bedroom window in deep reciprocation…at least it wasn’t a raven.) 😉

poe2

Recommended song choice to your Poe reading :

Music video by Muse , Unintended via Muse YouTube.

Published by

Kamalini Govender

I'm that girl that looks badass in her black boots reading Gothic Psychoanalytic Lit but really just wants to pew pew pew with someone.

Leave a Reply

