When Words Fail Mr Darcy…

I don’t know about you, but for me this scene from the 2005 screen adaptation of Jane Austen’s most alluring novel, Pride and Prejudice (1813), conveys more genuine emotion than any on-screen kiss or written word could ever hope to capture. When Elizabeth Bennet (one of my all time favorite female characters from a novel) reduces self-composed, taciturn Mr Darcy to a befuddled mess…somehow it moves me more than if he had walked up to her suave-like and collected with all the right words. It’s like Humpty Dumpty falling off his wall…amusing to watch, if not a little endearing.

“And your defect is a propensity to hate everybody.”

“And yours,” he replied with a smile, “is willfully to misunderstand them.” Mr Darcy

mrdarcy

 

 

Published by

Kamalini Govender

I'm that girl that looks badass in her black boots reading Gothic Psychoanalytic Lit but really just wants to pew pew pew with someone.

16 thoughts on “When Words Fail Mr Darcy…”

  1. Fudgesicles! The video doesn’t play. I do love this version, though I still have a huge soft spot for the Colin Firth version. Pride and Prejudice is my fav of all of Austen’s novels. Death Comes to Pemberley by P.D. James is quite fantastic too. Her apology to Austen at the beginning is brilliant.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I haven’t read Death Comes to Pemberley yet…need to get my hands on that! Austen makes me feel good about life somehow. She makes you laugh at how unnecessarily complicated we make life. Sometimes you just need to chill 🙂 I do hope I find my Mr Darcy though…I have a good feeling about 2017 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. You know I prefer the 1995 version (watched a gazillon times) with Colin Firth. I also liked the 2008 Lost in Austin series, too. Never watched the Keira Knightly version even though I loved watching BBC romances, Austin’s adaptations, etc.

    Is it any good?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think Keira was a perfect match for Elizabeth…you know just the right amount of pride and the right amount of prejudice 😉 Most people seem to prefer the Firth adaptation though. I never watched the Lost in Austen series. What series are you watching at the moment Miss Lani? (say Buffy say Buffy say Buffy) :p

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I was going through your post and the minute I saw mr Darcy, I had to check it out. My favourite book ever!!! And fav characters too; Elizabeth and Mr Darcy😍 Have you watched “becoming Jane” which is a movie about Jane Austen’s life?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

