Creative Portfolio

Experiential Advertising & The Faraway Tree #lovewhatyoudo

Dying for some proper sleep but my creative portfolio is due this week. Here’s a sneak peek into the current life of a copywriting student.

I’m working on an idea for Experiential Advertising (an interactive approach to marketing that allows advertising to be more personalized and to connect with audiences/consumers). Since I’m all about them books and reading, I decided to play around with reading spaces for children. Why not transform the reading space in public libraries, book-stores or schools into an indoor tree-house? This idea stems from Enid Blyton’s children’s classic The Enchanted Wood series which tells the tale of a magic tree with different lands circulating at the very top. Kids can climb a small staircase to a specialized tree-house reading room and when they’re done they can exit via a Slippery Slide similar to the one in Blyton’s stories. It’s fun, it’s interactive and it adds to the imaginative experience stimulated through words.

What do you think? Do you have kids of your own or little family members? Are you a teacher working with children? Does the idea work for you in terms of developing the child’s creativity and experience with reading? Branding and advertising should do more than just sell people things (in my personal opinion), it should enhance our realities and improve them while adding positive dimensions to humanity. Perhaps I should stick to drawing vampire faces on my coffee cups instead? 🙂

Darth Vader

Reading Space Concept © Kamalini Govender 2016.

Published by

Kamalini Govender

I'm that girl that looks badass in her black boots reading Gothic Psychoanalytic Lit but really just wants to pew pew pew with someone.

7 thoughts on “Experiential Advertising & The Faraway Tree #lovewhatyoudo”

      1. I know you are working hard and I already know that it will be worth it. You talent can not be denied and speaks for itself, the world needs more people like you and that is rare. So it makes you one in a million and extremely valuable. I cherish you my beautiful friend and so will others. Get ready for it. Xoxoxo

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Just when I thought you have already said the sweetest thing possible…you go and prove me wrong 🙂 Thank you…I’m trying to keep my spirits up (through being sick) and the creative nudges really help. Hope you’re having a beautiful day!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. All the best for your new creative venture dear. I saw some of your posts and I loved the images, you created each one? How awesome can you be? Keep it up 🙂 Have lots of fun and I hope you are better now (Just read the comments! sorry for spying! ehhe)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol! When we blog, we put our lives out there for others to see so I don’t think you’re a stalker 😉 Thanks for stopping by. I do try to use some of my own illustrations whenever I get the chance. Thank you for all your kind words, they are truly appreciated 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

