Death Art

Neil Gaiman’s Sandman & Day 2 of My 3 Day Quote Challenge.

Featured Artwork by J Scott Campbell (above), Staz Johnson (below).

Death Sandman
Death from Sandman

It’s pretty evident by now that I’m a Neil Gaiman fan. I’m using his texts in my MA thesis and he’s the underlying inspiration for my online creative portfolio that I’m currently working on in Copywriting class. Nothing puts me off more than the words ‘I don’t get Neil Gaiman’ #truestory. But alas…I wouldn’t be me if I didn’t at least smile politely and understand that not everyone sees the world the same. People have different opinions and preferences…and that’s what makes the world such an adventurous place: diversity. So it seemed quite fitting that I should choose a quote (a rather large chunky one) from Gaiman’s comic masterpiece ‘The Sandman’ (Vertigo). His character, Death, is a young, punkgoth creature that just happens to be immortal and omnipotent. I’ve always been quite charmed by her and so for Day 2 of my 3 Day Quote Challenge (as nominated by the free-spirited RHAPSODYBOHÈME) my quote choice is…

Sandman

Without the dark to tantalize and illuminate the light, we (as human beings) lose our meaning. Since I’ve been reading so many Gothic texts in my studies, I’ve been contemplating the idea of immortality. It sounds pretty cool at first…but it lacks something vital. It lacks the joy we have of waking up for another day, the fragility, the impermanence, the beauty that is inherent in breath, laughter,sorrow. We fear death. We fear having no purpose…yet life is saturated with purpose and meaning because of how delicate it is to be human. We take things for granted, and we shouldn’t. I’m probably babbling on today (I’m still quite medicated after my recent hospital visits and have more ahead of me) but I hope that some part of what I’m saying makes sense. What are your interpretations of Death’s words above?

Concluding thought: I hope that each person that reads this post makes the most of their moments today…because hey, you get what everybody gets…a lifetime.

As part of the rules for the challenge, please remember to thank your nominator and to nominate 3 blogs each day for 3 days (nine in total) with your quotes. My picks for today are :

The Tony Burgess Blog

hocuspocus13

This Is Lit

Happy Quoting! And did I mention I can have caffeine again from tomorrow?!!! -little wins in life 🙂 -So expect more posts…more sensical posts at least, if I’m capable of such 😉

Published by

Kamalini Govender

I'm that girl that looks badass in her black boots reading Gothic Psychoanalytic Lit but really just wants to pew pew pew with someone.

8 thoughts on “Neil Gaiman’s Sandman & Day 2 of My 3 Day Quote Challenge.”

  1. I give up lol and there are simply no words I could use to give your talent any justice. I’m truly inspired by your words and can’t help but aspire that my writing one day will come close to a fraction of yours. Just like you are a Gaiman fan, I’m a fan of yours and still have to read his work. Which book do you recommend for my first and do you have a favorite?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awwwww…you always know how to put a smile on my face Moonchild! 🙂 Something tells me you should start with The Ocean at the End of the Lane. I may be wrong, my gypsy powers are a lil’ wonky at the moment 😛 It’s impossible for me to choose a favorite with him…they all speak to me on different levels. But I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on his writing 🙂 Whether good or bad 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Awe and so it is and I shall order it today. I understand it was difficult to recommend a favorite but I’m grateful for the pointer.
        I keep thinking of what you have said and my writing evolving. I think it is due to being inspired by wonderful people such as you. I believe and I do have the confidence as well as the motivation to learn and to improve, so it is not a lack thereof. I think I need to find more time for reading the work of others to help my own style and Neil Gaiman in addition to your brilliant work it shall be 😉.
        Thank you again, you are always such a great inspiration to me and I’m truly grateful that our paths have crossed here in bloggers land.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Our own unique styles come from various things we learn, like and experience. It’s funny you mention this because I’m busy putting together a list of influences for my writing (as part of a creative portfolio I have to hand in by the end of this week!) and I’m amazed at all the different things that inspire and cast spells over my writing and imagination. Thank you again for being supportive of my blogging journey 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Again, wise words that ring so true for me and I couldn’t agree more. Imagination is linked to creativity and I always said that I have a vivid imagination. I’m just learning to express it through words and you are a great teacher in helping to coax and bring them to the surface. Thank you and good luck with your portfolio. I’m sure everybody will be blown away.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

