leonard cohen

Leonard Cohen, broken hallelujahs & Day 1 of My 3 Day Quote Challenge.

Artwork by Lloyd-art.

cohen lyric

My beautiful cyber friend RHAPSODYBOHÈME nominated me for the 3 Day Quote Challenge. She’s a wonderful Moonchild so please check out her blog. Of Tales and Dreams lives and breathes words, so it made sense for me to accept this challenge. I’m currently in the midst of a physical storm and I wanted to use this challenge as a way to make sense of life. So here goes…

Unless you’ve lived under a rock your whole life (or are very very young) you know of Leonard Cohen. He has written novels, poetry and eloquent songs that unravel human nature. One that I’m particularly drawn to is his song ‘Hallelujah'(1984). It’s a powerful and questioning (haunting even) lyrical masterpiece. It was written, not with any religious intent, but with an acknowledgment of faith in life, in yourself or in another. Cohen explained that the song was written as a way to reaffirm faith – apart from religious connotations- and to show that enthusiasm and emotion live within us, and it’s ok to express that. The word ‘Hallelujah’ is used to express devotion, love and agreement…Cohen took that word and exposed its versatility across cultures, religious beliefs and semantics.

And the song remains chilling to the bone, every single time I listen to it. My quote for Day 1 of the Quote Challenge comes from the lyrics of this timeless classic :

“Love is not a victory march, it’s a cold and it’s a broken Hallelujah”

The wonderful thing about words is that they are open to interpretation. Despite what a reader may say or what the writer says. So this quote will mean something different to each and every person that comes across it. To me, the quote reaffirms the idea of love that I’ve come to understand. People are quick to lavish their attentions, claim their love is the most beautiful or true, or undergo all sorts of ridiculous displays for the public and for themselves. To most people, love is something that must be won and owned. The other (their lover) is something that must belong to them. That is not love. Love instead…is quiet. It is a mix of cold and warmth. It knows when to show itself and when to recede. And it is something that is often not perfect. Love is something that perfect (which is a ridiculous notion) and non-perfect beings are capable of.

adventure time

It’s a wonderful mix of dark and light, a mishmash of pieces that is a collection of experiences and characteristics of those who love and those who are loved. And sometimes…it is not reciprocal. And that is when you have to be strong and love despite that. It takes strength to affirm a hallelujah of love (whether romantic, familial or friendly). To find something that is worthy of love and that provides you with faith in life…that’s kinda special. So here’s hoping that the world will embrace such notions! Let me know your thoughts on this quote in the comments section…I’m always looking for new perspectives 🙂

Time for my first batch of nominations. The rules are simple and short:

Thank your nominator and link back to their blog

Write three quotes total, one for each day out of the three

Nominate three fellow bloggers each day, nine total.

My nominations are :

Truth Troubles

Miscellanea

Life Confusions

Happy Quoting! I leave you with this rendition of Cohen’s famous song, by Jeff Buckley.

 

Published by

Kamalini Govender

I'm that girl that looks badass in her black boots reading Gothic Psychoanalytic Lit but really just wants to pew pew pew with someone.

5 thoughts on “Leonard Cohen, broken hallelujahs & Day 1 of My 3 Day Quote Challenge.”

  1. Yes, yes, yes and thank you so much for accepting the challenge. I knew you would totally rock it as you always do and I’m just addicted to your words and your perspective. Always so refreshing, you leave me looking forward to your next quote while taking in every single word of this post. I’m just in awe of your talent and I’m for sure one of your biggest fans dear. 😉❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for challenging me 😀 Oh dear…I’ll have to think hard about quotes 2 and 3 now 😛 Talent and creativity is in all of us…it’s just a question of nurturing it and having some confidence. Oh…and great readers to help! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

    1. 😀 Adventure Time is such an awesome show with lots of gems like that! I know what you mean about the song…I get goosebumps every single time I hear it. So powerful! Thank you so much for reading and taking the time to comment 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

