Kamalini Govender

Whaaat? A Blogger Recognition Award for little ol’ me…

blogger award

A long time ago in a galaxy far, far away…oh wait no! That’s not how my story starts. Quite frankly I’m at a loss for words here. I started this blog about a month or so ago and I thought I’d be writing to myself (my life is a perpetual conversation to myself, no lies!) and yet somehow I’ve managed to make some great friends in cyberspace, who are not only talented but really supportive of the written word. In the real world I suffer from an inability to express myself properly …

Buffy quote
Not so good with the talking.

Buffyisms made up for that though, thankfully, and I manage to get by with the whole social interaction thing. But I am most myself and ‘free’ when surrounded by reading, writing and illustrating. It’s those little things!

Rory Gilmore quote
It’s those little things!

My blog is literature-based and will involve anything academic related, book related, illustrations, comic talk, quotes, screenplays,poetry, songwriting…you get the pic?Anything really that allows us expression through words. I decided to start this blog whilst sitting in Copywriting class (I’m a freelance Copywriter and Illustrator) in August 2016 and I’m hoping to

  1. structure my journey through my post graduate English Literature studies (see my About page for more on that)
  2. find a creative release that will impact on others out there

This is what we do in the blogosphere. We write. We share. And we add something to a person’s day. It may be something cute to laugh at (kitten GIFs) or a tiny seed that starts a person thinking about something greater (world domination…inception…who knows?!).

Thank you, thank you, THANK YOU to Written In Geek (Geek/Writer/Mother…need we say anything more awesome about you?). I stumbled across her blog post Top Ten Sci-Fi Captains quite recently and even though she broke my heart by not placing my man Han Solo & his Falcon at No.1 she had me hooked. If you need more convincing that her blog goes well with a morning cup of coffee go check it out for yourself here.

So what do the nominees have to do?

The Rules :

  • Write a post to show your award
  • Thank the blogger who nominated you and provide a link to their blog
  • Attach the award to the post
  • Give a brief story of how your blog started
  • Give a piece of advice or two to new bloggers
  • Select 5 other blogs you want to give the award to

My advice to other bloggers out there…just be badass. Your attitude to life is everything! And it reflects in your writing.

Killjoys quote
Your attitude to life is everything!

Do what you love, listen to constructive criticism and follow your gut instinct. Blogging can be time-consuming and quite frankly difficult (there are people out there that think bloggers are freaks,lol)…but if you believe you have something to say that you want others to hear, and you think that cyberspace is the right place for that…then by all means go for it!

Since I am fairly new on the radar, I’m not familiar with too many blogs just yet! However, I would like to nominate the following 5 blogs (if I left you out, there’s always a next time):

RHAPSODYBOHÈME

a big cup of books

PhilosopherPoet

REPROGRAM

Life Confusions

 

*MAY THE FORCE BE WITH YOU*

 

 

 

 

 

Published by

Kamalini Govender

I'm that girl that looks badass in her black boots reading Gothic Psychoanalytic Lit but really just wants to pew pew pew with someone.

10 thoughts on “Whaaat? A Blogger Recognition Award for little ol’ me…”

  1. Thank you so much my dear friend, I feel so honored and speechless, it truly touches my heart. After my little get away,mom finding myself on a 9 day work stretch ☹️ but I can’t wait to get going on my own nominees and write my post. Thank you for thinking of me and for the wonderful surprise. Hugs….

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

