The Wild Woman

Original illustration and words by Kamalini Govender.

The following poem takes inspiration from the wolf rules (below) by Jungian analyst and cantadora  Clarissa Pinkola Estes in Women Who Run With the Wolves (1992).

wolf rules

How often do you howl?

Once? Twice? Between routine? Never?

How often do you breathe

the night air as the moonlight seduces your skin?

How often do you laugh?

Without the pretenses, the awkwardness, the social niceties

digging its heels into your chest?

How often do you love

the moment, the earth, the stranger in yourself?

How often do you apologize?

How often do you break ?

How often do you whisper your magic on the wind?

There in the chaos bridled with tenderness

she makes a fire from old sticks.

There she slips off her clothes and lets the night

tell her stories of the times before cages.

Before man’s touch became ice.

Before man’s touch breathed fear.

Before the invention of trust and cupcakes.

With freedom singing through her hair

and inspiration quivering in her heart

alone

and content

she howls.

She howls. She howls.She howls.

 

Published by

Kamalini Govender

I'm that girl that looks badass in her black boots reading Gothic Psychoanalytic Lit but really just wants to pew pew pew with someone.

6 thoughts on “The Wild Woman”

  1. Wow, simply amazing and this touches my heart as I relate and have done much research in my own journey and that of the wild woman. I will have to save this for my own personal mantra and refer to it whenever I need a reminder. I love this, thank you for sharing. You are amazing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Your words are too kind 🙂 I’m so happy that it speaks to you. I feel like so many women forget their wild, inner beauty and if they just take some time to focus on themselves and get back to their natural roots, it can awaken so much creativity and internal peace. Thanks for reading 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Very true and I’m grateful to find myself on that journey back to my roots to be able to reevaluate what truly matters.
        When and if the time comes, would you be ok with me sharing your message and how it has inspired me? I’m unsure in which format I would like to do this yet, maybe in a post or perhaps in the book I’m currently writing. Of course with full credit to the author, you.
        In either way it will remain a special message to me.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I would be so very honored! Of course you may and keep me updated so that I can share your post or book around the web. It’s so important for people to find confidence and self-love inside themselves. I admire your journey and your quest to spread that beauty.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

