The Library at Mount Char by Scott Hawkins (2015)

” Carolyn rose and stood alone in the dark, both in that moment and ever after.”

I stumbled upon this book quite by chance. My book mate ( that’s my term for someone special in your life that loves reading as much as you do) and I decided that despite living on completely separate continents, we would proceed to bridge the gap by reading something together. Our tastes are often different so when it fell on me to find our next read, I was a little apprehensive. We’d made mistakes before (looking at you American Pastoral-ugh). So I did what every techie nerd does, I googled. Then I did what every techie nerd with a superpower desire does, I let my intuition guide me to the correct choice. So that’s how I came across Scott Hawkin’s The Library at Mount Char, known as a science fiction horror novel or contemporary fantasy. A lot of people seemed to use the word bizarre in their comments about the book, so my interest was piqued quite naturally.

It has elements of bizarre for sure, and gruesomeness that reminds you of real world brutality yet doesn’t ever feel like it’s trying too hard to make you squirm in your skin. The writing keeps you captivated and isn’t that what we all hope for when we pick up a book? The characters are rather dark, with psychological wounds that continuously fester. Sometimes you’re left wondering if peace and compassion even exist in the writer’s world. And yet…something stirs in the recesses of your animalistic side. Makes you wonder whether humans or animals are actually more humane. Makes you consider the paths people take after pain or trauma ensues. Makes you relinquish that the mind and heart can both open and close in order to survive.

Read it. It’ll leave an imprint on you either way.

Published by

Kamalini Govender

I'm that girl that looks badass in her black boots reading Gothic Psychoanalytic Lit but really just wants to pew pew pew with someone.

Leave a Reply

